I work at a large church where everyone is a member and a Christian but yesterday something was said that was really insensitive and would be considered offensive by today’s standards for sure. I wasn’t sure how to respond and keep my issues too myself.

We had a gentleman come by the church looking for help too get home. He was picked up by a coworker and brought to the office too meet with a Pastor who could help him out. He explained that he’d just gotten out of the hospitals mental health ward after attempting suicide. My coworker joked about it and my some rude comments about people with mental health problems and I wasn’t sure what to say. I tried to tell them that mental health issues isn’t something to joke about but it just didnt change his attitude and comments. I finally got up and left and said nothing else the rest of the afternoon too him. A man who is supposed to be a Christian probably shouldn’t act like that towards another person. I’m at a loss on how to go forward now.

I think I may set up an appt to meet with our head Pastor and discuss the Bibles standpoint on mental health challenges. But I also realize that prayer doesn’t heal all wounds. Chemical imbalances in the brain are not usually healed with prayer alone. It takes proper medication but prayer can help with building a positive attitude for one own self maybe.

I’d sure like to hear anyone’s opinions on how to handle this but not interested in religion bashing or bashing others opinions or issues.

Leave a comment